How to Clear Your Facebook Search History

fb_search_activity_logAll Facebook users have an ‘Activity Log’ that tracks your actions across the platform, and this includes anything you have searched for on Facebook. Only you can see your search history, so this information isn’t available to your friends or to the public.

However, if you use a shared computer or if you are worried about someone checking up on your online activities, then clearing your search history might not be a bad idea.  A lot of people like to creep on friends, frenemies and maybe even exes. Or, you might have searched Facebook for embarrassing medical conditions, weird interests or anything else that you’d rather keep to yourself. Whatever the reason, you can use this handy guide below to erase those tracks.

1. Navigate to your Timeline and click on your ‘Activity Log.’

activity_log

2. Look for the ‘More’ link in the left column and click it:

activity_log_more

3. Scroll down in this column and click on the ‘Search’ link.

4. Lastly, click on the ‘Clear Searches’ button.

activity_log_clear_searches

There you go! Your Facebook search history can’t come back to haunt you now – unless it’s obtained by a court order! :)

Images Credit: Facebook



Recommended Resources

PRIVATE WiFi® is a Personal VPN that encrypts everything you send and receive. Don’t access Facebook from a public WiFi hotspot without it.

IDrive® Secure, fast and simple online backup – 5G Free!

BitDefender Safego is a Facebook application you can install that will scan your News Feed and help keep you safe from scams on Facebook.

Facebook Special Projects Leader: Wi-Fi, Wearable Technology in the Works for the Site Previous post Facebook Special Projects Leader: Wi-Fi, Wearable Technology in the Works for the Site  Facebook Profile Pics, Cover Photos Findable on Search – No Matter Your Settings Next post Facebook Profile Pics, Cover Photos Findable on Search – No Matter Your Settings