How to Edit Your Facebook Friend List Visibility and Why You Should

facebook-security-2Facebook is well known for having confusing and obscure and privacy controls. The little things do make a difference, and this is especially true when it comes to your online privacy and security.

Facebook gives users the ability to control who sees their friends list. We recommend setting this feature to ‘Only Me.’ When cyber criminals hijack a Facebook account, they often extract as much data as possible. This information can be used for identity theft , fraud and the search for more victims.

Just leaving your friends list open to ‘Friends,’ can expose all of your Facebook friends to hackers and scammers. A popular scam involves creating cloned profiles and then targeting everyone on that person’s friends list. If the scammer doesn’t know who a person is friends with, then it’s virtually impossible for them to run this socially engineered scam successfully. They go for the easy money and prey and will likely move on.

Now that we have covered the ‘Why’ – follow the instructions below to lock down your friends list from would-be scammers:

Navigate to your Timeline and click the link to your friends list. Next, click the ‘Edit’ icon located on the far right below your cover photo. Finally, click the ‘Edit Privacy’ option and set the Friend List option to “Only Me.”

edit_friends_listFor more Facebook privacy tips be sure to check out our complete walkthrough on all of they major account and privacy settings:

How to Lockdown Your Facebook Account For Maximum Privacy and Security



Recommended Resources

Blur is the first all-in-one solution that protects your passwords, payments, and privacy. It gives power back to people making it simple to choose what amount of their personal information they are OK providing to any website: no matter a) what they are doing- surfing, creating a new account, or shopping, or b) what device they are using – mobile phone, browser or tablet.

BitDefender Safego is a Facebook application you can install that will scan your News Feed and help keep you safe from scams on Facebook.

System Mechanic 14 – Make your computer run like new. Winner of 200+ Editor’s Choice awards!

[Phishing Alert] Facebook Scam Says Users' Friends Have Been the Victim of Crime Previous post [Phishing Alert] Facebook Scam Says Users' Friends Have Been the Victim of Crime Beware of Bogus UGG Outlet Store Scams on Facebook Next post Beware of Bogus UGG Outlet Store Scams on Facebook