Check Who has Deleted You Facebook Scam

Scam Signature Message: “Check who has deleted you” / “See who your friends really are!”


Scam Type: Like Jacking – Survey Scam – Rogue Application

Trending: October 2010

Why it’s a Scam:

Once you click on the Wall Post link, you are taken to the following page:


This is the main page for the “Loyalfriend” Facebook application. When you agree to install the application, you must agree to give the application developer full access to your basic information and the right to email you, post to your wall, access your data at any time and the right to manage your pages. Once you agree to install the application, you are then taken to the typical scam screen asking you to prove that you are human. At this stage you must complete a survey of some kind to proceed. We noticed one of the surveys was actually an I.Q. quiz scam that can result in expensive text charges appearing on your phone bill.

How to Deal with the Scam:

If you did make the mistake of installing the application and passing the link onto your friends, you should clean-up your newsfeed and profile to remove references to the application. You also need to access your privacy settings and remove the application. If you made the mistake of submitting your cell phone number for any of the surveys, then you should contact your carrier immediately to keep any bogus charging from appearing.

If you or your Facebook friends are falling for tricks like this, it’s time to get yourself informed of the latest threats. Be sure to join the Facecrooks page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security issues. Also check out:

Your Ultimate Guide to Facebook Scams and How to Deal with Them

(Not so) Private Facebook Profiles - What you need to know. Previous post (Not so) Private Facebook Profiles - What you need to know. kb variant Next post kb variant