Facebook began the roll out for its new Privacy Checkup feature this week, which aims to help users better control and review their privacy settings.
According to Facebook’s announcement, users will experience the feature when they log in to Facebook in the coming days. The message, a pop-up window sporting a blue dinosaur illustration, will prompt users to review their privacy settings, and when they click a button that says “Let’s Do It!”, they will be walked through a series of checkups.
First, you will be shown what groups you currently share your posts with, and you will be given the option to change it. Next, the window will display which apps you’ve linked up with Facebook, and you’ll be able to either edit your apps’ settings or delete them altogether. The final checkup allows you to change the privacy settings for individual pieces of your most private information on your profile, like where you live, where you went to school and where you work.
Even if you don’t receive the pop-up notification within the next few weeks, you’ll be able to access Privacy Checkup at any time by clicking the Privacy Shortcuts icon (a padlock) in the upper right-hand corner of your Facebook homepage.
Also, be sure to checkout our full walk through of all of the major Facebook privacy and security settings.