Scam Signature Message:
SHOCKING! My Facebook wall has been viewed [random number] times.
Boy views: [number] Girl views: [number]
AMAZING! My FB wall has been seen ___ times.
WOW! My FB wall has been viewed ___ times.
WOW! My FB wall has been seen ___ times.
WOW! My FB wall has been visited ___ times
AMAZING! My FB wall has been visited ___ times.
SHOCKING! My FB wall has been seen ___ times.
SHOCKING! My FB wall has visited seen ___ times.
Scam Type: Survey Scam – Rogue Application
Trending: March 2011
Why it’s a Scam:
Clicking the wall post link takes you to the following Facebook application installation screen:
If you agree to install the “Great” application you must agree to give the application developer full access to your basic information and the right to post to your wall. Allowing them this access gives them permission to spam their message on your wall for all your friends to see. This scam is using multiple applications and links. Hopefully, Facebook will get them all shut down in a timely manner. You should never give a third party application this much access unless you are 100% sure of their intentions and authenticity.
Once you click on the “Allow”, you are taken to the following page:
Here we see the end game of a typical Facebook Survey Scam. Each time someone completes a survey, the scam creator gets a commission. The scam creator will possibly have your personal information to do you harm. (depending on the information you submitted in the survey) If you downloaded any games or other files then your computer could be infecting with a virus, trojan or other malware. Never download files from scams like this!
Keep in mind that profile spy and stalker apps are all bogus and violate Facebook’s TOS, and developers do not have access to the information required to complete such applications. For more information about them check out our in dept article:
How to Deal with the Scam:
If you did make the mistake of installing the application and passing the link onto your friends, you should clean-up your newsfeed and profile to remove references to the application (click the “x” in the top right hand corner of the post).You also need to access your privacy settings and remove the application from your list of approved Facebook applications. (Account/ Privacy Settings/ Applications and Websites.)
If you made the mistake of submitting your cell phone number for any of the surveys, then you should contact your carrier immediately to keep any bogus charges from appearing.
If you or your Facebook friends are falling for tricks like this, it’s time to get yourself informed of the latest threats. Be sure to join the Facecrooks page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security issues. Also check out: