Scam Signature Message:
WOW I cant believe that you can see who is viewing your profile!I just saw my top 10 profile VIEWERS and I am SHOCKED from who is viewing my profile!You can also see WHO VIEWED YOUR PROFILE…NOW TRY TO FIND OUT WHO’S STALKING AT YOU HERE>>
WOW! I cant believe that you can see who is viewing your profile! I can see the TOP 10 people and I am really OPENMOUTHED that my EX is still checking me every hour. You can also see WHO CHECKS YOUR PROFILE here
See whose viewing you!
Know your stalker now
Scam Type: Rogue Application – Survey Scam
Trending: July 2011
Why it’s a Scam:
Clicking the wall post link takes you to the landing page shown below. It is a very nice and convincing page, but no matter how slick it looks, any page offering to show you who views your profile is a scam.
Clicking “Continue” takes you to the standard Facebook application installation screen. This scam is using several different Facebook applications and is spreading very rapidly at the moment. Scammers often create multiple apps and/or use several links, so when one gets shut down the scam is not slowed down very much.
Anytime you install a third party Facebook application, you give the application developer access to your personal data. Always be very selective on the apps you install, and only install them from well-known, trusted sources.
After you install the application, you are redirected to a survey scam. Every time a survey is completed, a scammer gets paid. Don’t compromise your privacy and online security by falling for tricks like this. Some survey scams try to get you to enter your cell phone number, so they can charge you for premium services.
Keep in mind that profile spy and stalker apps are all bogus and violate Facebook’s TOS, and developers do not have access to the information required to complete such applications. For more information about them check out our in dept article:
How to Deal with the Scam:
If you did make the mistake of installing the rogue application you are now spamming the very same spam message to your friends. Clean-up your newsfeed and profile to remove references to the scam. (click the “x” in the top right hand corner of the post).
You also need to remove the app from your Facebook account. Access your privacy settings and to remove the application.
If you or your Facebook friends are falling for tricks like this, it’s time to get yourself informed of the latest threats. Be sure to join the Facecrooks page on Facebook to be kept informed of the latest security issues. Also check out:
BitDefender Safego is a Facebook application you can install that will scan your News Feed and help keep you safe from scams like this.